Keeping Your Clusters and Data

Deleting Altinity’s access to your environment without disturbing your clusters and data

Altinity takes the phrase “No vendor lock-in” seriously. You can permanently delete Altinity’s access to your cloud account and your ClickHouse® clusters without deleting your ClickHouse clusters and their data. In other words, you can delete the Altinity.Cloud environment entirely but keep your ClickHouse clusters running. No downtime, no moving your data; everything is under your control, whether it’s in your cloud (BYOC) or your Kubernetes environment (BYOK).

Your ClickHouse clusters and data stay in your cloud account or Kubernetes environment. Contact Altinity support as you go through the process and we’ll make sure that everything goes smoothly.

Here’s a high-level overview of what needs to happen:

  • Configure a custom domain - When you delete an Altinity.Cloud environment, the DNS records Altinity created for you are deleted. You need to define another domain to access your ClickHouse resources.
  • Verify DNS control - You must control the hosted zone for your custom domain.
  • Configure your ACME secret - You need to gather your ACME (Automated Certificate Management Environment) credentials for Let’s Encrypt certificate automation.
  • Verify access - You must have access to your AWS account, including the appropriate IAM permissions. You also need access to your Kubernetes environment and ClickHouse clusters.
  • Replace Altinity’s edge-proxy and load balancer functionality - You need to install the Contour (Envoy-based) ingress controller.

Complete details are on the following pages:


Prerequisites

Things to do and things you need before you get started

AWS and Network Access

Verifying your AWS and Network access before Deleting Anything

Replacing Edge-Proxy

Replacing Edge-Proxy